News:

"You Tube" footage of the C5alive meetings
http://c5alive.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=303.0


Author Topic: My C5 up and running - Phase 2 - 24v conversion  (Read 15508 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline radiomarty

  • Administrator
  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2641
  • Battery level: 100
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #30 on: 21, September, 2011 - 08:40:49 »
Interesting stuff Lance - looking forward to seeing what you come up with  :) :)

Offline PLOD11

  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • Battery level: 11
  • Trust No one !
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #31 on: 21, September, 2011 - 11:11:10 »
If you come up with circit you need a PCB made for, my mate can do fantastic PCBs.

Maybe combine his efforts for the voltage and yours for current into one board  8)

Just a thought  8)

John

Offline C5 ENTHUSIAST + RESTORER

  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1877
  • Battery level: 8
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #32 on: 21, September, 2011 - 16:09:41 »
Hi there Lance how did you do that ....???????
 
 Regarding the metal gearbox inserts I will have 4 made up by the end of next week ....

bye Chas

Offline Lancealot

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Battery level: 5
  • Owning C5s are a pleasure and hassle..............
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #33 on: 21, September, 2011 - 20:17:46 »
Had the motor connected to two batteries to give 24v and whilst it was rotating (6000'ish rpm) grabed the gear with a tea towel to induce some resistance (i.e. strain on the motor / gearbox). This must of cause heat and friction that melted the gear and also the tea towel has holes in it.

Nice one with the metal gear. thanks Lance

Offline MikeDX

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 627
  • Battery level: 1
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #34 on: 21, September, 2011 - 22:57:17 »
Must admit lance, that is quite an impressive cooking skill you have!

Hope you can get back up and running.

Failure teaches success :)

Offline Lancealot

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Battery level: 5
  • Owning C5s are a pleasure and hassle..............
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #35 on: 22, September, 2011 - 18:13:36 »
Dave,

In regard to brakes, I am using standard at the moment. In regard to yours sticking, check that you have not lost the little cir-clip that holds the pin in position. I had a similar issue once. Send a photo of your assemble we may be able to advise from the photo.

regards

Lance

Offline Lancealot

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Battery level: 5
  • Owning C5s are a pleasure and hassle..............
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #36 on: 23, September, 2011 - 22:26:28 »
Hi POD11, I think I have a circuit that will do both the 24v battery monitor and the current using two LM3914 IC's.
Drop me your email address and we can discuss in more detail

Lance

Offline radiomarty

  • Administrator
  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2641
  • Battery level: 100
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #37 on: 24, September, 2011 - 09:09:11 »
Put me down for two if you crack this Lance - ps are you planning on using this pod display in con - junction with your 4qd controller (just a thought 4qd sell an of the shelf LED bar type voltage monitor to suit the controller)

Offline PLOD11

  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • Battery level: 11
  • Trust No one !
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #38 on: 24, September, 2011 - 10:49:07 »
Hi there ...

No probs, if you have a circuit, i can send it to my mate who can make the PCBs, my e mail is G0XBJ@YAHOO.COM

I am not about much this coming week, but got some leave the week after.

John

Offline Lancealot

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Battery level: 5
  • Owning C5s are a pleasure and hassle..............
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #39 on: 24, September, 2011 - 13:23:36 »
Hi Radiomarty,
I have the 24v 5 LED display from 4QD. It is using a number of BC556B amplifier transistors and 2.2k resistors with volt steps of 0.5v. By looking at the LM3914 we can drive up 10 LED but will do just the 7 LED as per the POD.

Lance

Offline Lancealot

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Battery level: 5
  • Owning C5s are a pleasure and hassle..............
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #40 on: 26, September, 2011 - 18:37:01 »
Hi POD11,

I have produced a 24v monitoring circuit diagram but have not had a chance to produce it or test it. I am very busy at work so it will be some time before I get a chance to look at it. I am looking at the same circuit (x2 LM3914's, with a few component changes) for my current part due to using a dc current transducer (0-10vdc output signal) into Vsig2

.

Diagram below shows the proposed 1st part of the circuit.  (its been +20 years since my HND course).



regards

Lance

Offline PLOD11

  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • Battery level: 11
  • Trust No one !
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #41 on: 27, September, 2011 - 14:45:08 »
Tha looks just the job, i will pass it on to my mate, he may well knock something up on a pcb that can tested ...

Just a question, i have been looking at the qd controllers, whats the best one to get that would be suited to the c5 MOTOR RUNNING AT 24V  ??

Recomendations anyone ???



Offline Lancealot

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Battery level: 5
  • Owning C5s are a pleasure and hassle..............
Re: My C5 up and running - Under construction
« Reply #42 on: 27, September, 2011 - 15:52:46 »
Hi POD11, I have ordered the Uni8 24 with cover, the twist throttle, matching handle and 5 LED battery monitor (but only got it to see what it was like) - £130. I understand Chas used the same on his.

Lance
« Last Edit: 12, June, 2012 - 00:36:12 by Lancealot »

Offline PLOD11

  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • Battery level: 11
  • Trust No one !
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #43 on: 18, October, 2011 - 14:31:50 »
Test PCB is being made as i speak using the circuit lancelot put on here, (with a few modifications).

Looks like that side of things is nearly complete, my mate is looking using the LED strips from the OLD pod as they have the bezel around them.

He is still working on the "current" part of the display, but has suggested a use for the LED strip on the left, maybe using the Yellows at each end for the indicators, and using the other leds for indications for the fan running (if switched) any other suggestions for the use of these leds ?

Will get some pics of the prototype when i next pop round to see him.

He has asked how many people might want these ??  No price as yet, but will get some sort of idea once the final board is completed.
They will come ready built with or with out LEDs (depending if you want to fit your own or supply the old ones from your POD or even fit these yourself)  a bit of soldering

More info to follow

Offline Lancealot

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Battery level: 5
  • Owning C5s are a pleasure and hassle..............
Re: My C5 up and running
« Reply #44 on: 24, October, 2011 - 19:34:36 »
Hi POD11,

Any more info on the circuit.

Lance