News:

C5 Alive attending the following event
Easter Sunday 20th April 2014 - Sandwich Gears of Change Motor Show - Kent
http://classicmusicandmotors.co.uk/flv_portfolio/motor-shows/

Author Topic: New to the C5  (Read 3337 times)

Offline cardaft

• Battery level: 3
  • 4 legs may be better than 2 but 3 wheels better then anything!
New to the C5
« on: 19, April, 2013 - 22:56:05 »
Hi, I've only recently bought a C5. I've always wanted to have a try of one and when one came up for sale locally I decided it was not to be missed.

I'm still learning about them but it does appear to be fairly decent and I can't see that it has had much in the way of use. I bought it without battery so I had no idea if it worked or not. It had been sat in a garage for quite a while and the owner didn't really know much about it. I had been on here before buying and researched into what else to look for and it all checked out ok.

While there are marks and scuffs on the body there is nothing major and no cracks, it should clean up a treat. The original centre caps are in the wheels, the front wheel has the cowling and all of the tyres are the original Sinclair Vee Rubber type which all hold air - they are quite cracked though. The battery terminals have been swapped to take car battery type posts and the old battery cover is with it, as is the charger but there are no keys. The tool kit is also there. The chassis is very very good too, as are the wheel bearings.

After getting it home we hooked up a car battery to check for signs of life, the front and rear lights worked but that was it. A fuse had gone, once replaced the motor was running fine. The front brake did nothing so that was adjusted, the rear brake was sticking so that was also adjusted and now work as well as can be expected. After correcting the tyre pressures we had it out for a run, which was a lot of fun!