News:

C5 Alive attending the following event
Easter Sunday 20th April 2014 - Sandwich Gears of Change Motor Show - Kent
http://classicmusicandmotors.co.uk/flv_portfolio/motor-shows/

Author Topic: G'day from Australia  (Read 2532 times)

Offline jk

• Battery level: 1
G'day from Australia
« on: 24, June, 2010 - 13:17:34 »
G'day All,
I've just bought a c5! Its actually the only one I've ever seen for sale down here. Its currently at a friends house in Sydney, and I need to organize it to be transported to me here in Adelaide some 1400km (870 miles) away.
I was in Sydney last week to pick it up from the seller, very exciting! I've never seen a c5 in real life before, and riding it around put a big smile on my face.
I bought it for $AUD210 or about GBP120.
The electrics don't work on it, so whilst in Sydney I removed them and took them back to Adelaide for troubleshooting. They do seem a mess, but nevertheless I will keep me busy for a while (I am a avionics engineer).
So far...
The motor has thrown a magnet, and I'm not sure the armature is OK yet, however I have a new motor waiting for me at my sisters house in London.
The gearbox is well and truly cactus, the 3 planetary gears and their axles are missing, presumed destroyed, as their meshing surface on the gearbox is virtually worn flat. The fingers are all snapped off. I plan to purchase, when available, a Dragon Technology gearbox conversion to solve this issue.  --> http://c5alive.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=967.0
I am in the process of repairing the control box, then I will turn my attention to the pod. However I do plan to purchase a PWM DC controller kit from a local electronics supplier to replace the control box.
As for the pod, If I cannot get it working, I plan to use an Arduino or PIC and just emulate the entire pod with the electronics contained in the original pod housing. However it does seem that aladds is already investigating this.   --> http://c5alive.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=978.0