News:

Welcome to C5alive, the best place for help & advice on how to get the most from your iconic Sinclair C5. Check the meetings section today for events near you.
C5alive.co.uk  - Keeping the C5 Alive !!


Author Topic: Going 24v : what's required ?  (Read 1547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline minidaz

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Battery level: 6
Going 24v : what's required ?
« on: 14, May, 2012 - 17:53:27 »
Going on from my post in the For Sale section, i thought i'd give it it's own thread.

I take it with the controllers, going direct to 4qd is a good option, and would i be right in saying that it's the uni-8 24 that's the choice of sprint champions  ;D

Obviously the controller is just part of what's required. Do 4qd do the throttle grips / wiring / all the bits and pieces to fit it, or would i need to purchase these from elsewhere ?

The need for speed is getting stronger  ;D ;D

marra

  • Guest
Re: Going 24v : what's required ?
« Reply #1 on: 14, May, 2012 - 17:58:04 »
I bought the controller + base, cover and leads and magura throttle twist grip from 4 qd. you dont need the extra length conti fit ( imo ).

Offline PLOD11

  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • Battery level: 11
  • Trust No one !
Re: Going 24v : what's required ?
« Reply #2 on: 14, May, 2012 - 18:07:33 »
http://www.4qd.co.uk/prod/uni.html

http://www.4qd.co.uk/accs/pots.html#mag

All the user / fitting manuals are also there to download if you want to have a look prior to buying.


John


Karl

  • Guest
Re: Going 24v : what's required ?
« Reply #3 on: 14, May, 2012 - 19:26:22 »

The need for speed is getting stronger  ;D ;D

...that will be down to the AER then  ;D

Basically the Throttle , matching handgrip for the other side and controller are from 4qd

The battery clamps, wiring , fan ,additional heat soak etc are sourced elsewhere.

Offline minidaz

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Battery level: 6
Re: Going 24v : what's required ?
« Reply #4 on: 14, May, 2012 - 20:40:11 »
Quote
...that will be down to the AER then  ;D

Yep  ;D

Might have to see about a 4qd order sometime soon, but does anyone know where i can get a decent set of battery clamps from  :P ;D

Must admit i've never tinkered with the C5 electrics, but there's always a first.
And i know if i get stuck, there's a few experts on here  :)


Offline radiomarty

  • Administrator
  • Millennium Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2641
  • Battery level: 100
Re: Going 24v : what's required ?
« Reply #5 on: 15, May, 2012 - 07:29:50 »
Am looking into making up a harness to improve what is fitted to Goldfinger - if it works out ok your welcome to copy it - ps im just down the A14 if you get stuck bud  :) :)

Offline minidaz

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Battery level: 6
Re: Going 24v : what's required ?
« Reply #6 on: 15, May, 2012 - 18:14:18 »
Cheers Marty  :)