News:

C5alive meets Chris Barrie
http://c5alive.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=417.0

Author Topic: A newbie's battery questions :)  (Read 7528 times)

Offline joerg

• Battery level: 3
  • 4 legs may be better than 2 but 3 wheels better then anything!
A newbie's battery questions :)
« on: 20, April, 2012 - 22:04:30 »
Hi folks,

I have just joined the community of proud C5 owners: Bought my first C5 back in February this year and successfully restored it. Photos will be posted here very soon. :o)

As I am still a bloody beginner, I just bought the first 35Ah car starter battery in a local store - just to get things going!

When it is fully charged, it has a voltage of around 13.5 volt - the motor works perfectly and the speed without pedaling is at around 20 km/h.
After around 15kms with pedal support at hills and at the driveaway, the voltage has dropped to 12.37 volts.
The motor support is now very week and without pedaling the C5 goes with walking speed (6km/h or so).
Another day, the voltage dropped below 12V (11.9 if I remember correctly) and the motor wasn't able to turn the wheels anymore.

Now my question: Do you share this experience? Does it happen because the voltage is too low? Or would the motor operate properly at "just" 12V if the battery delivered enough amps? As far as I know, a 12V car battery can be discharged down to a voltage of 10.5 volts...

http://www.ev-power.eu/Winston-40Ah-100Ah/
What do you think about these ones? Should I give them a try? I'd use four of them with an appropriate BMS/balancers.
What capacity would you suggest me? On long day tours with my "normal" bike, I use to make 70-100km per day. If my C5 made 70 kms without recharging, it would be perfect when starting after breakfast on a sunny sunday and coming back for a late dinner. :) Any suggestions and ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Jörg

Offline thedesigntailor

• Battery level: 5
  • designer and C5 newbie
    • GLOW creative
Re: A newbie's battery questions :)