News:

C5alive - The Premier Sinclair C5 website
https://www.c5alive.co.uk

Author Topic: Click, click! From the gearbox?!  (Read 9999 times)

Offline joerg

• Battery level: 3
  • 4 legs may be better than 2 but 3 wheels better then anything!
Click, click! From the gearbox?!
« on: 16, May, 2012 - 20:31:59 »
Hi folks,

as you already know, I'm pretty new to the C5 (bought my first one back in February) and still need to get some more experience with the vehicle.

I recently noticed a click noise when I press the motor switch. It only happens on the drive away (guess the motor is under heavy load then) when I don't support it with the pedals. It usually clicks 2-3 times (every two seconds or so) and then disappears when reaching a certain speed. When pedaling from the start, the sound doesn't appear.
If you drive the C5 for a few kilometers and the battery voltage has dropped a bit already, the clicking noise is gone.
If the wheel is almost completely blocked (if you forget to release the parking brake for example), the clicking doesn't occur.

Is the gearbox broken? What do you think? And how to fix the problem? Any ideas/suggestions/offers are very welcome. :o)

Thanks in advance,

Jörg

Offline PLOD11

• Millennium Member
  • Battery level: 11
  • Trust No one !
Re: Click, click! From the gearbox?!
« Reply #1 on: 16, May, 2012 - 20:55:29 »
Sounds very much like the belt is slipping ....

Check the tightnes of the belt and make sure it is adjusted correctly and sitting on the plastic shelf and not slipped off.

Have a look through the forum there are many tutorials on this and some pics to explain it.

John

Offline C5 ENTHUSIAST + RESTORER

• Millennium Member
  • Battery level: 8
« Reply #2 on: 16, May, 2012 - 20:57:34 »
Hi there first of all you should never engage the motor before peddling up to speed ....